Employee Report of Fraud Results in Damages Suit After Qui Tam Suit Settled
No Statutory Hearing Right Arose Because No Dental Commission Complaint, License Suspension, Revocation, Or Sanction Occurred.
Post 4855
In Abbas Mohammadi et al. v. William M. Tong et al., No. AC 47598, Court of Appeals of Connecticut (September 29, 2026) Abbas Mohammadi owned and operated Columbia Dental, P.C., which provided dental services through multiple Connecticut offices; Columbia Oral Maxillofacial Imaging, LLC served as the billing entity.
From April 2012 to February 27, 2013, Columbia Dental employed Brittany Ames Mahoney as a dental assistant. During her employment, Mahoney claimed to have discovered certain billing irregularities, including, but not limited to, false and fraudulent reimbursement claims submitted to the Department of Social Services for services rendered to Medicaid beneficiaries. Mahoney filed a complaint and an affidavit in the United States District Court for the District of Connecticut regarding these irregularities under the federal False Claims Act. The United States, the state, Mahoney, and the plaintiffs subsequently entered into a settlement agreement to resolve the qui tam action.
The state did not suspend Mohammadi’s dental license or Medicaid billing eligibility and conducted no disciplinary hearing but it issued a press release about the suit. The plaintiffs claimed the release was inaccurate, damaged their reputations and businesses, caused insurers and financing companies to end relationships, impaired hiring and retention, and was issued without an opportunity for a hearing.
LAW
Qualified immunity is an affirmative defense to a 42 U.S.C. § 1983 damages claim; it does not affect subject matter jurisdiction and ordinarily should be raised in a motion to strike or motion for summary judgment, not a motion to dismiss.
A substantive due process claim requires identification of a protected constitutional interest and state conduct sufficiently egregious to shock the conscience.
ANALYSIS
The Appellate Court agreed that qualified immunity was improperly presented through a motion to dismiss but held that the plaintiffs waived that procedural objection by not making it below. It then reviewed the four appealed federal counts de novo.
On procedural due process, reputational injury, lost contracts, lost revenue, hiring difficulties, and social-media consequences flowed from private reactions to the press release rather than from a separate state-imposed burden. No statutory hearing right arose because no Dental Commission complaint, license suspension, revocation, or sanction occurred.
The Lanham Act theory failed because the government press release was not commercial speech. The substantive due process count failed at the threshold because the plaintiffs did not identify a protected liberty or property interest were insufficient.
The privacy count failed because the alleged disclosures involved business matters and unwanted publicity, not the narrow category of constitutionally protected personal information. Because none of the counts plausibly alleged a violation of a clearly established federal right, qualified immunity applied.
DISCUSSION
The difficulty of converting allegedly defamatory governmental speech into a federal constitutional claim failed.
Business losses and reputational harm do not become procedural due process violations unless the government itself imposes an additional legal burden or status change.
CONCLUSION
The trial court concluded that qualified immunity applied to the allegations.
The Connecticut Appellate Court affirmed the judgment dismissing the challenged counts. Counts one, two, five, and six did not plausibly allege violations of clearly established federal rights, so the defendants were entitled to qualified immunity.
ZALMA OPINION
It takes a certain amount of chutzpah (Yiddish for unmitigated gall) to sue the government after settling a false claims act suit by a dental service defrauding a governmental agency. Rather than go to trial on the fraud charge Abbas Mohammadi paid the government to settle the suit and then sued the state and federal government for reporting the settlement which Mohammadi claimed cost him business which could include restarting the fraudulent conduct that resulted in the qui tam suit.

(c) 2026 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe
Go to X @bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk.

, although retired, and will forever be my first client and a good friend.
In Jeffrey Wayne Phillips v. Creative Website Studios, et al., No. 5:23-CV-568-BO-BM, United States District Court, E.D. North Carolina, Western Division (September 28, 2026) the Court needed to rule on the order and memorandum and recommendation (“M&R”) of the Magistrate.
Post 4853
In HE Electric, Inc. v. Edyta Kiraga, No. 1-25-2650, 2026 IL App (1st) 252650-U, Court of Appeals of Illinois, First District, Fifth Division (September 25, 2026) HE Electric, Inc. (HE) appeals the circuit court’s order dismissing its unjust enrichment claim against Edyta Kiraga HE claimed that Miroslaw Szczerbowski, Ms. Kiraga’s ex-husband, had an oral agreement with HE by which HE would put Ms. Kiraga on its payroll so that she could receive health insurance through HE.
In Emy Ojekwe v. Connecticut Transit District Consortium, No. AC 47389, Court of Appeals of Connecticut (September 22, 2026) Emy Ojekwe alleged that he was injured on September 24, 2020, while leaving a bus operated by Connecticut Transit District Consortium, doing business as Greater Bridgeport Transit Authority.
In Hudson Insurance Company v. Archer Western Federal, JV, No. 1:24-cv-544 (PTG/IDD), United States District Court, E.D. Virginia, Alexandria Division (September 18, 2026) Archer Western Federal, JV (“AWF”), the prime contractor for a new fire station at Marine Corps Base Quantico, subcontracted roofing work to Eastern General Contractor, Inc. (“EGC”) for $456,330.
Defendants May Not Enjoin a Suit Alleging They Defrauded the Plaintiffs
In State Of North Carolina v. Tia Allen, No. COA24-1010, Court of Appeals of North Carolina (September 16, 2026) Tia M. Allen pleaded guilty on 18 April 2022 to several offenses under a plea agreement. The trial court consolidated the convictions, imposed an 11-to-23-month sentence,
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
ZALMA OPINION
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in educing the effect of insurance fraud. ZIFL is published 24 times a year by ClaimSchool and is written by Barry Zalma. It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at
Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.


In Industrial Park Center, LLC, doing business as Mainspring Capital Group v. Great Northern Insurance Company, a foreign insurer, No. CV-25-0330-CQ, Supreme Court of Arizona (September 1, 2026).
In United States Of America, Clarissa Zafirov, ex rel; Dr. v. Florida Medical Associates, LLC, d.b.a. Vipcare, Physician Partners, LLC, Anion Technologies, LLC, Freedom Health, Inc., Optimum Healthcare, Inc., Physician Partners Specialty Services, LLC, et al., No. 24-13581, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 1, 2026).
In David Cromp v. Johnny Harkrider, Monique Harkrider, and their Marital Community, dba Able Plumbing Plus, No. 61678-5-II, Court of Appeals of Washington, Division 2 (August 25, 2026) David Cromp hired Able Plumbing Plus in 2018 to install plumbing, including two toilets, at his residence. In 2019, both toilets allegedly leaked, causing damage. Insurance claims were submitted through Able’s contractor policy, but the insurer eventually denied the claims.
In Hernan Guillermo Palomino-Crespo v. Warden, Glades County Detention Center et al., No. 2:26-cv-02322-SPC-NPM, United States District Court, M.D. Florida, Fort Myers Division (August 26, 2026) Hernan Guillermo Palomino-Crespo’s Amended Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus, the government’s response and Palomino-Crespo’s reply.

In Riley and Rebecca Ross v. Allstate Vehicle And Property Insurance Company, and Illinois Corporation, No. 2:25-CV-00006-JAG, United States District Court, E.D. Washington (August 18, 2026), Pending before the USDC was Defendant’s Motion for Partial Summary Judgment the plaintiffs brought claims against Allstate arising from its handling of an insurance claim. They alleged Allstate failed to make proper payment, adequately investigate the loss, retain an expert, respond to communications, and properly value damages including alternative living expenses and damage to a hydronic heating system.
Every person that acquires a policy of insurance, whether designed to protect a dwelling, a commercial property, agriculture, crops from destruction by the actions of nature, or from liability arising from claims of torts, or cyber-attacks, must read and understand the policy before it is acquired to determine whether it provides the coverage requested. If a loss that could be subject to insurance it must be read again before making a claim to an insurer.
What is Insurance?
In Landon Cole v. Coty Link, No. 2024AP1372, Court of Appeals of Wisconsin, District III (August 18, 2026) Cole and Link entered into a purchase agreement for real property at 102 Knapp Street in Chetek, Wisconsin, for $105,000. The property consisted of a small lot with a building, and Cole accepted the property in its current as-is condition after receiving disclosures identifying structural defects. The agreement also included a maintenance clause and a property-damage clause governing damage occurring between acceptance and closing.
In Farmers Insurance Exchange, a California Reciprocal Insurance Exchange, The Superior Court For The County Of San Bernardino, Kathleen Ann Wood, E087128, California Court of Appeals, (July 9, 2026) Farmers Insurance Exchange insured Doyle Archer under an automobile policy with bodily injury limits of $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident.
In Joseph Russell Falasco v. USAA Casualty Insurance Company, No. 25-2632, United States Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit (August 18, 2026) Joseph Russell Falasco insured a restored 1974 Porsche 911S through USAA. After the Porsche caught fire in August 2023, Falasco reported the loss and initially believed the vehicle was a total loss. USAA investigated the origin and cause of the fire, sent a reservation-of-rights letter, retained an appraiser, and referred the claim to its special investigations unit after questions arose about whether the fire was accidental.
In Bryce A. Nickelson v. Secretary, Department Of Corrections, No. 8:23-cv-1081-KKM-SPF, United States District Court, M.D. Florida, Tampa Division (August 17, 2026) Bryce Nickelson, a Florida prisoner, was convicted by a state jury of making a false and fraudulent insurance claim and sentenced to 92.55 months in prison.
In Koble Investments v. Elicia Marquardt v. James Miller, Intervenor-Appellant, Supreme Court, 420 Wis.2d 304, No. 2022AP182 (June 5, 2026.) (Reversing 412 Wis. 2d 1, 7 N.W.3d 915.) 2026 WI 19, 420 Wis.2d 308 Koble Investments served tenant Elicia Marquardt with an eviction notice for nonpayment of rent during Governor Tony Evers’s COVID-19 eviction moratorium.
In Daniel E. Carpenter v. United States Of America, No. 3:21-cv-1485(RNC), United States District Court, D. Connecticut (August 17, 2026) Daniel Carpenter was convicted after a bench trial of mail fraud, wire fraud, and money laundering offenses arising from a stranger-originated life insurance scheme involving stranger-originated life insurance (“STOLI”) and his attempt to avoid the conviction by a motion pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2255 to set aside all the convictions.. Robert N. Chatigny, United States District Judge resolved the issues raised from Carpenter’s leadership role in an insurance fraud scheme.
In United States Of America v. Gary Rains, Criminal No. 1:26po25, United States District Court, W.D. Virginia, Abingdon Division (August 14, 2026) Gary Rains, (“Rains”), appeared before the court for an initial appearance on a petty offense violation on April 1, 2026.
Barry Zalma


In Betsey J. Grant v. Maine State Department Of Heath And Human Services, No. 1:25-cv-00490-JAW, United States District Court, D. Maine (August 6, 2026), Betsey J. Grant, a licensed childcare provider and operator of Tiny Tikes Daycare in Trenton, Maine, sued Maine DHHS and several employees after she publicly criticized DHHS before Maine’s Government Oversight Committee and alleged that officials retaliated against her.
